Heart of the Sun Warrior – ARC Review

I was completely floored when a chance request at an advanced copy of Heart of the Sun Warrior (The Celestial Duology #2) by Sue Lyn Tann on Netgalley came through my email as approved! I absolutely adored the first book in this Chinese mythology young adult fantasy duology and I could not wait to dive into the finale!

This book, released by Harper Voyager and published Nov. 15, picks up right where the first book Daughter of the Moon Goddess picks off. I can’t go too much into detail about the plot, but it serves just as much action and character development, if not more. Each character in these stories are so dynamic and strong, and each character goes through such incredible change as the stories progress. The Celestial Kingdom and this world as a whole is so well thought out and painted beautifully. From dragons and magic to love triangles and family trauma, this fantasy story does such an amazing job retelling the Chinese mythology surrounding the Moon Goddess.

It’s filled with so many epic moments that took my breath away as Xingyin and her mother’s home is invaded after they felt like they finally found peace. In order to fight for her family and her home, Xingyin has to turn to those who betrayed her trust and to those who she doesn’t want to put in danger to save not only her own but the whole kingdom.

The ending of this story had me in tears for a variety of reasons, and I had to reread parts because I loved them so much. It was such a beautiful ending for a story filled with heartache, love and loss and I am so happy to have read these books. This second book is filled with so much action and character development, and I highly recommend picking up this YA fantasy duology as soon as you can!

Special thanks to Avon, Harper Voyager and NetGalley for an advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. It was a 4.5 star read!

Leave a comment