Mid-Year Book Freakout!

I need someone to put the brakes on 2022 because I feel like it just started and now here we are, midway through June.

2022 has been a challenging year in a lot of aspects both personally and professionally for me, but also a lot of amazing things have happened. In terms of reading, this has been by far the best reading year I’ve ever had. As of June 14, I’ve read 55 books this year out of my goal of 90. Somehow I’m 19 books ahead of schedule and 69 percent done with my goal for the year. That’s bonkers!! I’ve really fallen in love with reading again this year and it’s been great.

I unfortunately haven’t been as active on my blog as I would have hoped, but life has just been a little overwhelming. I am super active with my weekly podcast Pages n’ Pages, which we are celebrating our one-year anniversary! I love doing it, we have so much fun talking about the thing we’re most passionate about – books!

Every year I love doing this kind of survey. I think it’s a great opportunity to really look at the books you’ve read throughout the year and see what’s worked and what hasn’t.

-Best book you’ve read so far in 2022: This is an extremely difficult question to answer, as it is every single year. And like times before, I cannot simply give one answer. I absolutely loved Running Wild by K.A. Tucker. I adore that series with my whole heart and soul and this was just a perfect book. Know My Name by Chanel Miller was such an impactful book. Also It Happened One Summer by Tessa Bailey because I adore that book with a passion.

-Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2022: Obviously, who would I be if I didn’t saw House of Sky and Breath by Sarah J. Maas.

-New release you haven’t read yet, but want to: Book Lover by Emily Henry. I previously read People We Meet on Vacation and liked it (didn’t love it) and everyone has been reading it and loving it, so I want to pick this one up.

-Most anticipated release for the second half of the year: Love on the Brain by Ali Hazelwood. I have been enjoying her novellas this summer, but I need that full length novel. End of story. Also Carrie Soto is Back by Taylor Jenkins Reid.

-Biggest surprise: Ace: What Asexuality Reveals About Desire, Society, and the Meaning of Sex by Angela Chen. There is no age limit to what you discover about yourself and I found this book really eye opening to some things about myself. I was also surprised with how much I liked Her Soul to Take by Harley LeCroux.

-Favorite new author (debut or new to you): Ava Wilder. I read an ARC of Ava’s debut book How to Fake It in Hollywood and absolutely loved it.

-Newest fictional crush: I have many! I finally read From Lukov with Love by Mariana Zapata and LOVED it, and Ivan Lukov is just everything. Liam from Under One Roof by Ali Hazelwood and Brendan from It Happened One Summer by Tessa Bailey.

-Book that made you cry: Surprisingly not many have made me cry this year. The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah and Know My Name by Chanel Miller definitely brought tears to my eyes. I’m usually a big crier in books but apparently not this year.

-Book that made you happy: I Kissed Shara Wheeler by Casey McQuiston. I adore anything Casey puts out and there are certain characters in this book that just made me so happy with how they developed.

-Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received): I definitely slowed down on special editions this year and I haven’t really bought many book this year. Unfortunately I can’t think of anything at the moment.

-What books do you need to read by the end of the year?: SO MANY! I mean, the TBR pile is endless. I really want to read Fool Me Once by Ashley Winstead, Hook Line and Sinker by Tessa Bailey. A ton of others that I can’t think of!

I’m going to add another question that I wanted to talk about.

Biggest disappointments so far?: I have a few this year that have really let me down. The Atlas Six by Olivie Blake – I did not like this book at all. Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Gild by Raven Kennedy, Gallant by VE Schwab and Twisted Love (and Twisted Games) by Ana Huang.

Hopefully your reading year has been going great so far. Let me know what you’ve loved this year and what you’ve been disappointed by!

Leave a comment