Fangirl, Vol. 2: The Manga – ARC Review

I have never reviewed an arc of a manga before, but what better way to start than the manga of one of my favorite books of all time!

Fangirl, Vol. 2 was released Tuesday, June 13 by VIZ Media

Cath just wants to hang out with her twin sister and write fanfiction. But now that they’re at college, her sister doesn’t have time for her. And life keeps pulling Cath further and further out of her shell. For the first time ever, Cath has her own social circle. There’s Nick, her handsome classmate who wants her to write short stories with him… And then Levi, who keeps showing up when she isn’t looking for him … Actually … maybe Cath’s circle is more of a triangle?

Now if you know anything about me, Fangirl is one of my favorite books of all time. I love everything about it, and when it was announced it was being released as a manga?! Best news ever. I someone was lucky enough to be approved for an arc of the second volume, and it did not disappoint! I absolutely adore the way the characters are brought to life in this manga, and how accurate it is to the source material. It’s so cozy and charming, and Cath and Levi are truly one of the cutest couples known to all human kind (I might be a little biased). Now if you haven’t read Fangirl and are reading the manga as it’s released, you might not feel the same way! Especially after the ending of this volume, but trust me on this. I love the inclusion of Simon and Baz as well, since it’s since an integral part of Cath’s story as well. The illustrator does a fantastic job of taking the little things that make Cath, Levi, Wren and Reagan and all the supporting characters who they are and bringing to life.

Thanks to VIZ Media and NetGalley for the advanced copy in exchange for an honest review. And honestly, I loved it!

Leave a comment